PotW (Photo of the Week) – July 13 thru July 19, 2008

Mom and Dad, giggling outside of the door to their Arizona home.

Mom and Dad, giggling outside of the door to their Arizona home.

After much pestering (Me: “So do I get a picture of you now?”  Dad: “Sure.”  Me: “You need to get dressed.”  Dad:  “WHAT?!”) and prodding (Me: “Seriously, Mom, if I don’t get a picture of you and dad together before I leave, I’m going to be very upset.”  Mom: ::eyebrow twitch::), my parents finally acquiesced to a minature photo-shoot this afternoon. 

The Original

The Original

Dad was actually a great asset, tickling mom and making everyone giggle, which led to this silly, more spontaneous picture.  I love Dad’s rosy cheeks and wide smile, and Mom’s look that kind-of says, “Do you believe this guy?” 

Did a lot of post-editing.  I used a wide f-stop and fast shutter, but it was a tad underexposed.  By a tad, I mean a lot.  I didn’t realize until after I started downloading the images that my camera wasn’t set in .RAW (grrr…), but I think I did an OK job of brightening the shadows.  Certainly not the greatest technically, but my favorite picture of my parents ever, I think.

This is the first of the ongoing “Photo of the Week” challenge I present to myself–that way, I’ll at least have to take one good photo each week.  And consistently update the blog.  Ah, see, dual purpose.  I can be smart.  Occasionally.

