PotW: July 27 – August 02

 

At Shinjuku Station

At Shinjuku Station

First time playing with a lensbaby in an urban environment, and let me tell you, it was a lot of fun.  I just set the focus to something about six/eight feet in front of me and started clicking away.  I think it really emphasizes both the business of a city and also it’s isolation.

Did not do very much post-editing.  Brightened (read: fixed poor exposure choices) and increased saturation slightly.  Thought about going black and white, but that took away some of the “busy” aspect of the photo, so I decided against it.  

According to the guidebook I brought with me on Tokyo, on average three million people go through Shinjuku station every day.  Pretty intense.  I happened upon this picture with another Kyushu JET named Nathaniel.  It was fun wandering around with him and playing with my big camera which, honestly, I don’t do nearly as often as I should.

