Gimme some sugar

I’ve been keeping myself busy.  You’d be surprised how much time you can waste away by simply doing errands.  I started “gardening,” and by that I mean de-weeding my front lawn.  It’s a process.  There are these huge weeds that grow like mold with roots the size of whole yams and, because I don’t want them to come back, I spent almost three hours hacking away at the ground to get all the roots out I could manage.  I only finished half of the front yard.

The result?  An intense sense of accomplishment along with a right arm that couldn’t move (even flex) without spasms of pain.  It took me hours to get to sleep that night, let me tell you.  Luckily, the arm is back to normal, so I think once I get back from Nagasaki I’ll get to the other half (this coming Sunday).

Ah, yes, I’m going to Nagasaki for a conference.  It’s only a day, but it’ll be nice to get off Iki again.  Just for a change of pace.  Those are good.  Occasionally.

To get everyone up-to-date, as well, here’s a bit I forgot to post before.

(

Goodbye Shannon 😦

Me at Shannon's going away.

Me at Shannon

 Shannon, my predecessor, left on August 13, the first day of “O-bon” festival.  I don’t know what O-bon festival is, but I’m pretty sure you can wikipedia it if you’re really curious.  She was an ALT for two years and knew the island really well-helpful for me who was boggled by the winding roads with no seeming explanation as to why they were so windy.  And no road names.  Look for a road name on Iki, and besides the major ones, you’re plum out of luck. 

            So Shannon took the ferry to Fukuoka, and this huge assemblage came to see her off.  Everyone holds these streamers (which I hope were biodegradable) and Shannon gets to hold the big clump at the other end as the ferry pulls out of port and she fades away into the distance.  I’m not sure what it signifies, but it looked pretty cool. 

            That’s that.

            Then, as well, here’s a picture of two of the other ALTs on the island (the other girls) so you can have a face to a name. 

Yuka (l) and Christine (r).  Guess how old Christine is!

Yuka (l) and Christine (r). Guess how old Christine is!

            I don’t yet have pictures of the boys, Nathan and Guy.  At some point in the future they will get noted.  Hopefully when they’re making fools of themselves, as that always makes the best picture.

            Still do not have internet, though at this point that’s more due to overall laziness instead of it not working.  Hopefully this will be remedied in the future but then who really knows?  It’s Iki.  Time (and therefore people) moves slowly.

