PotW: October 26 to October 31 (Happy Halloween!)

From all my kids here in Japan:

The all important peace sign in pictures, even when one is a Mummy.

The all important peace sign in pictures, even when one is a Mummy.

Had a Halloween week.  Taught plenty of Halloween lessons (“Wrap the Mummy,” “Halloween Comics” in which one fills in the dialogue of some comics, “Halloween Haikus,” “Halloween Spelling,” etc.).  I even impressed teachers with my knowledge of Halloween and where it comes from.  (I [heart] the Celts.)

While this tired out my fellow Iki ALTs, I enjoyed it.  I love Halloween, and I got to plan active lessons that encouraged student’s creativity instead of just knowledge.  It would have been better if I didn’t have my cold, but it was still tons of fun.  The kids were very genki, of course, they always are, but it’s always a good sign when, at the end of the lesson they say “Sensei, sugei!” (Teacher, that was really cool!)

Mom, they loved the eyeball candies.  Seriously.  Whenever I handed them out I got lots of “Whoa!”s and “Sugei!”s.  They all played with them–even the teachers!  I really appreciate your efforts in this area.  Not quite sure what I’ll do for Christmas, cookies for all my schools would be too expensive, but we’ll see what happens!

So yes, Happy Halloween, everyone!  Don’t eat too much candy 😉

