What I do at work…

So, because my schools are so small, most of the time I have at least three hours to sit around and twiddle my thumbs.  Yesterday, Tomato-sensei told me that our Kocho-sensei (Principal) wanted me to make some visuals for an “English Board.”  I’ve done similar things for Halloween and Thanksgiving, but not for this school yet.  And when I do it… I kind of go all out.  I think it’s the combination of me being able to be creative and having lots of time on my hands.

This is the result:

I'm particularly happy with my KAWAIIIIII Santa.

I'm particularly happy with my KAWAIIIIII Santa.

Sorry about the quality.  I didn’t have my smaller camera with me, so I took it with my cell phone.

Please note the sweet hand-made wreath (idea came from mom, and then I had the students write in Japanese their “Christmas wishes” slash New Years Resolutions) and my attempt to explain to the kids that American people do not just celebrate Christmas.  I asked Tomato-sensei whether she’d ever heard of Kwanzaa or Hanukkah and her face went all blank-like.  Then I told my first year class that we don’t eat Christmas Cake in America, and they all fainted.  (Or rather, they did in the manga version of my time in Japan that I have in my head.)

If you can make out the red underline-squiggly things, that’s my attempt to translate some words so the students have a better chance of understanding the boards.

Sometimes I do actually teach at work.  I had an excellent lesson teaching “When” to my first years.  I made up a Harry Potter class schedule for first years, then a blank one.  Because this was at one of my small schools, four students were prefects–they had a copy of the actual schedule.  But the First Years had all lost theirs, and if they didn’t fill the whole thing out in 15 minutes, then they would all get detention from Professor Snape (me).  So the students had to ask, “When is Transfiguration?” or “When is Potions?”  Then the prefects would respond “Transfigurations is on Monday Morning,” etc.

However, I messed with their minds by adding two caveats: 1) the Slytherin Prefect would always lie about when the classes were.  The Ravenclaw prefect didn’t have to answer if he or she won Rock/Paper/Scissors because he/she had to “study.”  And 2) The students didn’t know which prefect was which.

Well, I found it really entertaining.

And then, when I’m not teaching, planning, or creating really involved English Boards, I write.  It actually goes pretty well. 

Excited for Thursday because I’ll be putting together a gingerbread house with my Naka kids. 

I only have four days of classes left before I go on Winter Break!  Which is really odd… And all of them will be about Christmas… I am so gonna be Christmas’d out by the time the Emperor’s Birthday rolls around.

