Going over old projects

A number of writing related things to comment on today. 

  1. I finally named my Epic Young Adult Novel.  Since this thing has been in the works for eight or nine years, that’s pretty amazing.  I’m not sure if it’ll be the final title, but just having something is pretty exciting.  For future reference until I decide, it’ll be referred to as FS.
  2. Started re-reading Sapphire Stars after entering a contest over at The Passionate Pen.  It’s actually good.  Like, I didn’t want to stop reading it to go to Taiko good.  And I wrote it myself!  I guess that’s what happens when you don’t look at something for six months.  I’m considering re-editing it (there are a number of useless adverbs, awkward telling, etc) and then actually giving it the agent rounds.  We’ll see how that goes.  Finishing FS remains at the top of the list.
  3. Speaking of finishing FS I’m officially over the generally accepted YA word limit of 60,000.  Hah, limits… ah well, there’ll be tons of editing to look forward to.
  4. Did I mention that I’ve (probably temporarily) fixed my laptop so I can actually type at home again?  That is the greatest of news yet, I think.

In any case, I’m put-putting along.  I need to write some new query letters, as I’ve decided the ones I have are no good.  At least now I have something to put in the credits (aside from the fact that I teach English): I’m a member of RWA.

Any old projects you’ve gone over lately?

