Why I love today

  1. I taught my third years how to introduce themselves in sign language.  This is entertaining on several levels.  First, I didn’t know any American Sign Language besides random “love,” “day,” and “Christmas,” all from my childhood.  I learned everything I needed to know from youtube videos in an ASL blitz yesterday while at work.  Second, even the kids who don’t like sitting around in English class got interested.  Third, I learned that the word for “to like” in Japanese Sign Language looks like you’re combing through a very long beard.  AWESOME.
  2. Nice-sensei asked me to do some extra work on Sunday.  A few second and third year students are taking a big English test, so she wants me to help moderate, etc.  I said yes, of course, wasn’t planning on doing anything, and I like getting involved in the community.  She mentions it’ll take all day.  I say no problem.  She adds that I need to do a bunch of prep work.  Again, “No worries.  I don’t mind.”  Then she adds, “Oh, and you’ll get over 2 man (probably around $250) extra out of it.”  
  3. That is awesome.  Getting paid extra for something I would have done anyway.  
  4. Especially when I just bought a (very, very expensive) new computer and need to pay it back while still not giving up the opportunities for travel that I have while living here.
  5. I just got the Amazon books I ordered–much earlier than expected!  
  6. Now I just have to decide which one to read first. The romance novels/Neil Gaiman books I could finish tonight if I started now.  Graceling, however, I’m pretty sure will take about two days just because of its size.
  7. My fourth novel is flowing better than anticipated.
  8. Though due to the character sheets I’ve created, I’m going to have to rewrite my (very rough) synopsis before I start writing. The actual story.
  9. Did I mention that I’ve written nearly 15,000 words for this book so far? Oh, but wait, NONE of it will go in the book.  It’s all just character backstory for me.
  10. Nice-sensei gave me friggin’ delicious chocolate.
  11. Because I had five classes, I wasn’t too cold at work even though it got randomly colder again.
  12. I don’t have to plan any classes tomorrow, which means more delicious reading time (minus that whole preparing for monitoring the test business).
  13. I got notification from Apple that my cash back rebates/receipts were received, so that’s all good.

There’s probably more, but overall, I’m a happy camper.

There will probably be one more entry in K@’s Epic New Years/Christmas Adventure–the actual New Years part.  I might split this into two because there are quite a few pictures, but we’ll see how it goes.  I’ll be finishing it just in time to take a break before I start the next one–Hiroshima and Miyajima!  I’m visiting there for spring break.

Which reminds me that I need to reserve my hostels…

K@ out.  What do you love about today?  Your week?  Your month so far?

