What I’m getting up to

As I told my parents over skype the other day, Aperture and I have created what I refer to as a “detente”.  It chooses to still not allow me to view my pictures from Hiroshima.  I choose to not reinstall it, as I can view all my other photos.  At some point I’ll have to figure something out, as I will want to view those pictures… but we’ll see how it goes.

In any case, it’s been awhile since my last post.  Not too much has happened in my life.  Same old, same old, or as much as a “same old, same old” can occur in Japan.  We’ve been on “vacation” for the last couple of days, and since most of my Japanese friends are busy, I’ve had this weird feeling.  It’s like I’m in America.  English movies.  English books (I’ve read three books in the last five days).  Surfing the web in English.  Only speaking to my American friend, Christine.  

Yeah, I feel like I’m in America.  Minus when I drive around and everything’s in Japanese.

But in any case.  It’ll go back to normal once I start school again tomorrow.  Which reminds me that I should prepare the lessons…

I’m attaching some random photos that I haven’t shared with you fine folks yet.  Hopefully they’ll keep you entertained until I can come up with something more interesting to talk about.  How I’m going to fail my driving test to get my Japanese license?  Hahaha…. Oh god.

 

An example of the baked goods I make.  Chocolate cupcakes with Mexican Hot Chocolate frosting.

An example of the baked goods I make. Chocolate cupcakes with Mexican Hot Chocolate frosting.

One of my students had a mishap during our Easter lesson.

One of my students had a mishap during our Easter lesson.

 

But all of them turned out pretty okay in the end. :)

But all of them turned out pretty okay in the end. 🙂

A little blurry, but the one on the left was my favorite from the whole day.

A little blurry, but the one on the left was my favorite from the whole day.

The next few are from Oita, where Christine and I went over a weekend to visit our friend Yoko’s sister and brother-in-law.  They live really close to an onsen town called Beppu, which is very famous throughout Japan.  I had a wonderful time there, though while we were there, Yoko’s family got into a car accident!  Luckily, no one was hurt because, compared to the flimsy yellow-plate cars, their white-plate was like a hummer to a smart car.

Anywho.

 

Hiro and his adorable son Takumi.

Hiro and his adorable son Takumi.

We got to meet Hello! Kitty!  WIN!

We got to meet Hello! Kitty! WIN!

 

They raise crocodiles in the Beppu hells because, apparently, they like the heat.  I guess having cold blood would do that to a reptile.

They raise crocodiles in the Beppu hells because, apparently, they like the heat. I guess having cold blood would do that to a reptile.

So I hope everything is going great in your lives.  Mother’s day is just around the corner, and I know exactly what you want to get that special lady in your life…

The gift of water.  (Sorry mom, I’ve spoiled the surprise.)

