The Marriage Noose

Three months of work finally culminated in a performance today: that’s right, I geisha-fied myself and attempted to forget how to walk and move like a westerner and I did some Japanese fan dancing.  I wasn’t too nervous, overall, but I was very hot.  I learned several things about wearing kimono, too:

  1. It’s impossible to step more than a foot in a kimono, which is why Japanese women move with such tiny steps.
  2. You have no choice but to stand straight.
  3. Kimono are REALLY hot.  Like, seriously.

The song that I danced to is an 80s classic called 契り(Chigiri).  According to my friend Yoko, it means “The Marriage Noose,” which just has several levels of hilarity.  

So yeah, here are some pictures and even a video (!) of the day.  Enjoy!  

 

People of all ages fan dance.  Adorable ones are the best.

People of all ages fan dance. Adorable ones are the best.

 

And gorgeous kimono.  I want it!

And gorgeous kimono. I want it!

Rock on!

Rock on!

 

Hey, who's that chick?

Hey, who's that chick?

 

Tee Hee!

Tee Hee!

And finally, the winner!  Watch the whole thing, me making a bit of a fool of myself… but I hope you like it.  🙂

