Rhythmically Challenged

So over this last weekend a lot of things happened.  First, on Saturday, Yuka and I went a-rice-planting.  This is when you get down and dirty in a big vat of mud and place rice spurts in the mud.  It required me to get up unreasonably early, but it was actually pretty enjoyable overall.  I almost fell in the mud three times.  Not so good.  and I’m also unsure whether I planted the sprouts well enough that they’ll be able to hold up against a strong wind but…

Well, yeah.

 

Yuka wanted to go swimming.

Yuka wanted to go swimming.

All ages participated at varying levels of skill...

All ages participated at varying levels of skill...

Following this, on Sunday, two things happened.  Sunday was “Chuutairen,” or the island-wide Middle School sports competition.  Two weeks ago we had the club sports (like Tennis, Basketball, and Volleyball).  This last weekend was Sumo and Track/Field.  It was actually pretty entertaining, especially the Sumo.  It was the first time I saw Sumo, and it made me want to see it when the pros go to Fukuoka in November.

The best part was that the boys are all of varying sizes.  Being as it’s middle school, half the boys still haven’t gone through puberty.  So you have these boys who couldn’t weigh more than 70 pounds trying to topple some huge 15-year old who’s at least 130.  Pretty entertaining.  One of the boys, Nathan and I nicknamed him “The Bulldog” was actually pretty good.  Not that I’m really aware what good means as I know nothing about Sumo.

During lunch, I went to our neighborhood Bunka Hall to perform Taiko!  Only took eight months to get to this point…  I’m the one second from the right.  I also scream at the end.  Apparently I have a sweet scream.  The quality isn’t so good, but I hope you enjoy it!

Following that, I went back to Chuutairen to watch my students run.  Then I took a nap.  Then I had a spectacular time at an Enkai (party) with Hatsuyama.  

Sorry I’m a bit picture-less, I’ll attempt to add more later.  But it was a great weekend!  I had a lot of fun.

