Oh, Arizona.

Sorry about the miniature hiatus here, guys.  I’d say I’ve been busy, but that’s not quite true.  Mostly, I’ve been playing the Sims and trying to figure out what to talk about.  I had a great time watching Flamenco over this last weekend.  Rainy season has (finally) arrived, but we’re still getting gorgeous weather sometimes (cross your fingers that it happens on the Fourth!).  And Stephen Colbert’s I Am America (and So Can You!) is hilarious.

Just thought I’d update regarding some bills that passed through or advanced in Arizona’s legislature this last week… It’ll make me pause before choosing a restaurant or bar when I visit the folks, I tell you that. 

 Several gun-related bills advanced, including one that would allow concealed weapons in all establishments licensed to serve alcohol. Originally specific to restaurants and bars, Senate Bill 1113 was amended in committee last week to include hotels, clubs and liquor stores.

Gun carriers would not be allowed to drink and would be subject to a fine of up to $300 if they do consume alcohol.

Oh, super.  This also applies to clubs, by the way.  So hey, lets make it okay for people, in an environment where making bad decisions happens all th time, to carry weapons around that could kill someone when their idiotic friend goes, “A-hyuk!  Hey, that shur is le shinay.  Wooo, I’ve got a gun!  ‘s loaded?  Huh?  Well, I’ll just check…”

Doom.

Great guys.  Super idea. 

My favorite part was actually one lawmaker’s justification for the bill:

 People who are opposed to these bills are just people who want to ban guns, and they’re giving excuses, not reasons, to oppose these bills,” Kavanagh said. “The reputation these bills are sending is, think twice before you try to mug somebody in Arizona.

Actually, I’d say the people opposed to this bill (like, uh, me) don’t want to get shot and killed from an accidental firing by some dude who got drunk (or his friend got drunk).  And, really, I’m pretty sure people who do mugging have their own guns.  And since they pull it out first, they generally have the advantage. 

But aside from that, you really think muggings going to go down because more people have guns on them all the time?  More likely the muggers’ll just get bigger guns.  Or bullet proof jackets-es.

Okay, I know that’s a little far-fetched.  But really?  C’mon!

(Quotes from here: http://www.azcentral.com/arizonarepublic/local/articles/2009/06/30/20090630bills0630.html)

