PotW: June 28 – July 04 2009

It’s been awhile, but I was editing some of my photos and managed to find one that I’m actually pretty proud of.

As stated below, my friend Yoko and I went to Fukuoka last weekend to see a Flamenco show starring Angelita Vargas. (Amazing.) (Oh, and apparently she’s a world famous Flamenco dancer, Yoko called her one of Spain’s “national treasures”. No wonder I paid $100 for the ticket. That and the free-flowing wine.) I brought my big camera hoping to get some good photos to share with you fine folks, but I’m guessing Ms. Vargas wants control of the photos posted of her, so I wasn’t able to use it for the show.

In order to justify me hauling my big camera around Fukuoka, I took some parting shots of the city as Yoko and I returned to Iki via ferry. Now I’m quite glad I brought it, because it’s rare to have such a gorgeous day–good clouds, not much air pollution, clear water… you get the picture.

One of the lights from the ferry.

One of the lights from the ferry.

Didn’t do much in the way of post-editing. I did play with the sharpness a bit because I liked the grittiness of the light compared to the smooth water but… well. Good contrast. I enjoy it.

Here are some photos from the Flamenco show! They’re not the photos of the week.

Et-chan, Yoko, and Me at the bar.  The photos in the background are other famous Flamenco dancers who have performed there.

Et-chan, Yoko, and Me at the bar. The photos in the background are other famous Flamenco dancers who have performed there.

Once the show ended, the waiters were nice enough to let me take a photo on the stage.

Once the show ended, the waiters were nice enough to let me take a photo on the stage.

I feel like I should go more in depth regarding the show, but I’m not quite sure how to explain it.  The bar was tiny and crowded, so I didn’t get a good view of Ms. Vargas’ feet, one of the most important parts of Flamenco.  But her facial expressions and hands were enough to make my jaw drop.  She not only looked like she was having the time of her life, but she looked sexy.  And lemme tell you, this woman would not be considered conventionally attractive.  She’s of the older variety.  And a bit plump.  But when she moved it was like that all fell away.  She turned back into the inner vixen she probably was in her younger years.  Well, maybe she still is.  If so, I hope I can be that bad-ass when I’m older!

My other favorite part was one of the guitar players.  Again, not an attractive fellow.  Very plump.  Sweaty.  Short-ish.  But the way he moved with the guitar, and the gorgeous, enveloping sounds that came out well… my mouth went dry.

I really wish I could share something more with you from it, but unfortunately, that’s all.  But not to worry!  Once I perform (haha…hahaha…) in October, you’ll see me be bad, and then at least you’ll know how much better real Flamenco dancers can be.

🙂

Happy ID4 guys!  We’re having a party on Iki.  Hopefully it won’t take me too long to talk about it.

