Ole Flamenco!

Did Flamenco performance on Sunday!  It went… better than anticipated, though I still made plenty of mistakes.  Still, it was a lot of fun.  I’m so glad I decided to start to learn it–and I look forward to the next couple of years getting better.  I’m never gonna be as good as some of the ladies who are in the advanced class, but I’m not doing this to be perfect.  I’m doing it to have lots of fun.  I’ve spent a lot of money and time on it, though, so maybe I ought to try a little harder.  Then again, I think flamenco suits me better than Japanese fan dancing!  Probably because I have the right body type.  (Uh, not flat.)

I’m also really glad I started learning flamenco because so many of the women have become friends of mine.  It’s really easy to get caught in the English-only trap, even when there are only five foreigners on the island.  With flamenco, even though it’s a Spanish dance, I tend to get a lot more Japanese-time out of it.  Plus, I also get to dance with four of my elementary school students, and they’re adorable.  I get to be plenty wacky with them, which is awesome.

So here are a few pictures from the performance.  I danced the Fandango, which was a simplified version because it takes me ages to learn how to do this jazz.  It’s difficult to explain exactly how flamenco looks, but it’s big, bold, with lots of precise movements.  (By the way, the fandango I did looks nothing like the video, but at least it gives you an idea of the music and movements.)

Okay.  That’s all.  🙂

Etsuko dances the Alegria.

Etsuko practices the Alegria.

She's really good at flamenco.  Like REALLY good.

She's really good at flamenco. Like REALLY good.

Letting off some steam before we perform.

Letting off some steam before we perform.

The group performance of Alegria.

The group performance of Alegria.

I love flamenco dresses because they're so loud and bright.

I love flamenco dresses because they're so loud and bright.

Ah, que bonita!

Ah, que bonita!

About to do a complicated foot pattern.  (Yes, if you were wondering, I made lots of mistakes.  Ah well, no one really noticed.)

About to do a complicated foot pattern. (Yes, if you were wondering, I made lots of mistakes. Ah well, no one really noticed.)

My favorite part is when I get to swish my skirts around a lot.

My favorite part is when I get to swish my skirts around a lot.

With my shoes (7cm) I tower over everyone else in the flamenco classes.  It's pretty hilarious, actually.

With my shoes (7cm) I tower over everyone else in the flamenco classes. It's pretty hilarious, actually.

Ole!  I finished.  Amazing.

Ole! I finished. Amazing.

