Popcorn Balls and Some Volcano-age

I had a nice full day at work today.  Five classes (of six total periods), and I spent the first period preparing for the three different lessons I taught.  I scarfed lunch so I could drive to a school 15 minutes away to talk about charity: water.  Not sure how many donations I got as I had to book it out of there so I could teach fifth period.

So in lieu of going to the gym and getting healthy (who needs to be healthy, anyway?  overrated), I thought I’d share some pictures.

So the following are from my third and final day making popcorn balls at my schools.  I halved the recipe that I got from Paula Deen on foodnetwork.com, making about 8-12 balls per batch depending on the size.  Altogether, I supervised the making of 37 batches of popcorn balls, not including the batches I made myself.

Popcorn Balls 1

Some recipe-age.

Popcorn Balls 2

An example of the finished product.

Popcorn Balls 3

Hard at work smooshing the popcorn into balls.

So that happened the week before Halloween.

Starting on Halloween I had my “big trip” to Kagoshima and Yakushima.  Here’s a map for some perspective:

kyushumap

So we have my island (Iki) in the north, the city of Kagoshima and home of the volcano in the pictures to follow, and finally the lovely island of Yakushima.

I enjoyed Kagoshima quite a bit.  The city reminds me a lot of Nagasaki in terms of size, though unlike Nagasaki it’s very flat.  I appreciate that.  Flat cities are easier to walk around in.  However, I have to say that I like the harbor in Nagasaki better than Kagoshima–Dejima Wharf is a wonderful place, and they have a fantastic art museum right next door.  However, the view of Sakurajima, the island that holds Kagoshima’s resident active volcano, is something quite interesting to behold.

Kago-Yaku-Naga 63

The view of Kagoshima and Sakurajima (spewing ash) from the top of a ferris wheel.

Kago-Yaku-Naga 58

Sakurajima at sunset--this was the following day. Less ash. Probably because it'd been raining pretty hard the whole morning.

Kago-Yaku-Naga 54

Kagoshima at night as viewed from Sakurajima.

And just because it’s not a real adventure unless I make a fool of myself at some point, the following:

Kago-Yaku-Naga 61

Wait a second... that's not Santa Claus... someone lied to me!

Luckily, the bear was not hurt during the taking of this photograph.

I plan on going over Yakushima over the next few days with maybe a bit more detail as well.  But we’ll see.  Don’t get greedy.

Thanksgiving soon!  I ordered the turkeys, cranberries, and other foods that I can’t get on Iki.  Here’s hoping nothing goes wrong…

