I smell a new YA dystopia…

It's alive!!!

So I’ve been reading a lot of YA dystopia lately.  I think it’s my new favorite genre.  (A few examples from my kindle: Birthmarked by Caragh M. O’Brien, Unwind by Neal Shusterman, The Maze Runner by James Dashner, The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan.)  Of them, I think The Dead-Tossed Waves was my favorite (what can I say? zombies are awesome), my mother would like Unwind even more than she liked The Hunger Games, and The Maze Runner was the least appealing, but still good enough that I’ll buy the sequel.

Thus, when I was reading the news today and stumbled upon this little gem about sewing microfibers into our pants so that our movements would recharge electronic objects, I thought, “That would make a GREAT story!”

Led by professor Zhong Lin Wang, the researchers have also produced electrical currents from fingers typing on cellphones, hamsters running on exercise wheels, even vibrating vocal cords. Tiny modules could eventually be implanted in the human body to harvest energy from muscle movement or blood vessels, Wang said. (Citation.)

Is this the matrix?

Regardless, are there any takers?  🙂  I can’t do it right now!  I’m knee deep in the midst of another book which is going surprisingly okay.  I’m crossing my fingers that it’ll last.  I think I’ve crossed the rubicon, at least.

