What I do when I’m not writing

Even though I should be cleaning my house/packing/running errands before I leave for Paris and London, I find myself whiling away the hours in a variety of silly ways.

I thought I would share them with you.

My FemSheps are way prettier.

1.  Bioware Games.  I’m obsessed with Bioware, a Canadian developer of video games.  It started way back when, in 2003, when I bought Neverwinter Nights for the first time.  Then all the expansions.  And downloaded a bunch of user-created content.  I think I played that game over 20 times.  I went to college and calmed down about my video gaming…until 2006, when I started playing D&D.  I’d go to my friends houses, and Lo!  They had Jade Empire, and Mass Effect.  Well, I was hooked.  So this last January I bought an xbox 360.  Just so I could play Dragon Age: Origins and Mass Effect 2. I have yet to play any other games on the console.  REALLY looking forward to Dragon Age 2 this March/April (I want to buy the pre-ordered edition, but I don’t know if it’ll work with my Japanese xbox…) and MASS EFFECT 3 during 2011’s holiday season.  OMG I won’t leave my house for an entire weekend in all likelihood.

2.  The Daily Show – It’s a great way to catch up with the “news” while I’m flossing.  Also, comedy central is one of the few websites that allow streaming to Japan without going to wonky, ad-filled ones that may destroy my shiny iMac.  If I have extra time, I try to watch Colbert, but, no offense to the Colbert Nation, I just like the Best F**king New Team on TV better.

3.  Edit Photos – You’d be surprised, it’s a time consuming process.

4.  Watch Movies – Pretty sure I watch more movies on Iki than I have at any other time in my life.  There’s a pretty solid rental place near my house that has movies for 100 yen (about $1.10-$1.20, depending on the day).  And, if I haven’t already spent it on new Glee music, I can rent/buy movies from iTunes super easy.

Been wanting to read this since I heard about it last year. Sigh.

5. Read – Though this has been happening less and less since the tragic death of my kindle during my trip to China.  Miss you, baby.  I’ll buy another one someday…when I have the money.  However!  I am planning on buying some books to tide me over during the epically long flight/layovers from Fukuoka to Paris.  Specifically: Matched by Ally Condie and Butterfly Swords by Jeannie Lin.  And I may finally get past the first few chapters in Under the Loving Care of the Fatherly Leader, a non-fiction about the North Korean Kim dynasty.

6.  Silly Videos on YouTube – I actually recently talked to Nat-chan about this.  You start on youtube with a legitimate purpose–say, finding a good song to use for one of your grammar lessons.  Then you end up watching Candlelight, by the Maccabeats, or watching Glee clips on “repeat,” or, even worse, Katy Perry videos.  It’s just so easy to get distraaaaacted.

7.  Blogs – See all the links on the side.  I NEVER STOP CHECKING GOOGLE READER.  Oh gawd.  I’m so silly.

8.  Words with Friends – Though I have yet to download any single-player game apps for my shiny new iPhone, I did get this scrabble freebie.  It’s surprisingly addicting.  You’d think after the fifth game I’d get sick of it, but no.  I just play again.  And again.  I like using random vocab that no one knows.  However, this game is weird.  It won’t let me play legit acronyms that are used far more often than their full-word counterparts, but apparently “li” is a word.  What?

9. Facebook stalking –  Yeah.  I’m one of those.

10. Running – If I keep the motivation long enough right after I get home, I’ll brave the freezing weather to go run around the track for ten minutes.  Sometimes this is replaced by circuit exercises in my living room.  (Sit ups, push ups, jumping jacks.)  It doesn’t happen as often as it should.

Yes, I know, my life is insanely interesting.  ::rolls eyes::

Keep in mind that this doesn’t include my actual after school activities, though!  Those be: fan dancing, flamenco, judo, and taiko.  And Friday Night Curry.

