Resolution Round-Up: January

Yesterday I was very involved in reading a book (coughUnveiledcoughitsamazingcough), so I couldn’t find the time for a blog post.  Hence this unusual Friday post!  (Yes, it’s Friday in Japan.)

SO!  I find it hard to believe that January is almost over.  Didn’t we just have the New Year?  How can we already be one-twelfth of the way through the year?  Anyone else a little shocked?  This is especially frightening because I want to start querying Singular in early February.  AHHH!  So, considering that this is kinda-sorta-notreally a milepoint, I should re-examine my New Years Resolutions to see how I’m doing.

Gratuitous picture of a super sexy Asian, Kaneshiro Takeshi. You're welcome.

Work

  1. I will speak less Japanese in class.  I think I’m doing better, but there’s a long way to go.  Especially in my lower performing classes.
  2. Not applying for the Peace Corps until later in the year.  No problems here.
  3. I will study Japanese and Chinese.  AHAHAHAHAHAHA, unless you count learning random slang.  I don’t study enough.  Working on getting up the motivation.
  4. Also not applying for the Foreign Service until later.  BUT I will start studying once I finish giving my lovely sister her wedding gift.  Should be next month.

Writing

  1. I will finish two novels. Well, I’m hard at work editing Singular. But I have had several glimmers of future ideas. We’ll see how they pan out once I can focus on them.
  2. I will market myself.  So far, so good, though I think I could be more aggressive.  I’m slowly coming out of my shell.
  3. There has been lots of melodrama.  Awesome.
  4. Query Singular: Getting there!
  5. Critting Well, so far no one’s taken over a week. We’ll see what happens if I ever get a full in my inbox.

Personal

Just in case you hadn't had enough arbitrary eye candy. Apparently he goes to Yale (yeah) where he's getting a Ph. D in English. (Yeah.)

  1. Enter a photo contest I have yet to enter a photo contest. I know. But hey, it’s only January!
  2. Credit Card Balance Under $1000 Hasn’t happened yet, but I haven’t spent anything on my credit card yet this year. I only have about $2500 to go. 😦
  3. I will read a book a week See my current book list below. So far, so good!
  4. Donations to charity: water Did January’s just before I started typing this blog entry. I feel like a good person. And someone has water for twenty years because of me. That’s pretty much amazing.
  5. charity: water drive Haven’t even had a chance to think about it. Sigh. Not quite sure how I want to go about it yet.
  6. I will run 5x a week AHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA. AHAHAHAHAHAAHA. AHAHAHAHAHAHA X1000. No. Not at all. I’m a fatty.

So overall, I’m not doing as bad as I thought. I guess failure always seems bigger when you’re only thinking about it, and not what you ARE doing. I’m not one of those types who gives up on a resolution just because I didn’t manage to it all year. So I’ll keep trying to work up my motivation to exercise and study Japanese/Chinese. And also think of a good way to run a charity: water drive that hopefully won’t be as exhausting as the 2009 one.

Oh, who am I kidding? It’s gonna be overwhelming.

And finally, here’s my 2011 book list:

  1. Butterfly Swords by Jeannie Lin (Historical Romance)
  2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (YA contemp) View my Dear Nikki review here.
  3. Across the Universe by Beth Revis (YA Sci-fi/dystopian) View my Dear Mom review here.
  4. XVI by Julie Karr (YA dystopian)
  5. Unveiled by Courtney Milan (Historical Romance)

Hope you had a great January!  Do you think I’m crazy?  Any good fundraising ideas?  And PS, you know you want to donate to charity water now, anyway.  Or your own favorite charity.  😀

