Resolution Round-Up: March

Today is my birthday.

Me on the left, TANK on the right, at our flamenco performance last October. I want to wear that dress every day.

IT’S MY BIRTHDAY.

I am 24.

Today is also the start of Crits for Water. (This is not a coincidence.)

CRITS FOR WATER IS AWESOME.

$5000 here we come, wooooooo!

So anyway. Resolution round-up POWER.

Work

  1. I will speak less Japanese in class. It’s going! And it’ll be even better starting in April when I’m choosing what to teach myself. WIN.
  2. Apply to Peace Corps or something in Europe: This still isn’t happening until later in the year.
  3. I will study Japanese and Chinese.  My Japanese has actually gotten better without my purposefully studying. I can have real, hour long conversations. They’re a little awkward, and sometimes I don’t understand everything, but with the help of a dictionary, I’m good.
  4. Apply to the Foreign Service. I’m buying either this book or this one. For the former, The People’s History of the United States, I think it would be an interesting take on the US, but I know it’s biased and also a little squidgy on the footnotes. The latter, The Patriot’s History of the United States is clearly its counterpoint. I’ll probably end up reading both, but I don’t know which one to start with. Any other recommendations? I need something I can get on my kindle, and I want to start with an overview, then I’ll pick out my weak areas and focus on those to start.

Writing

  1. I will finish two novels. Haven’t started writing a new book, but I’m PLOTTING. Which is a good step. Once I get a good outline going–really, once I know the end, the work generally flows.
  2. I will join twitter and blog more often. ACCOMPLISHED.
  3. There has been drama. But the good kind.
  4. Query Singular: BOUNCE BOUNCE BOUNCE BOUNCE BOUNCEBOUNCEBOUNCE.
  5. Critting quickly: Okay, sometimes it takes 10 days. This is a little unacceptable, especially with Crits for Water coming up, but overall I’m doing a good job of keeping it under one week.

There's an actual campaign URL now! YAY.

Personal

  1. Enter a photo contest: Honestly, I haven’t even looked. Any of y’all know some that are smaller? And also either free to enter or have a smaller entry fee?
  2. Credit Card Balance Under $1000: Slowly but surely, we’re getting there. I’m solidly under $3000 now, and I anticipate it staying that way.
  3. I will read a book a week: I’m falling behind. But I’ll be bored at work soon again, so maybe I’ll get caught up.
  4. Donations to charity: water: DONE.
  5. charity: water drive: HAPPENING NOW. Donate. Get a crit. Increase your Awesome score. (Also +1 to charisma for each dollar donated 😉 ).
  6. I will run 5x a week: HAHAHAHAHAHAHHA.

SO. Life is going pretty well. I’ve started the charity: water drive, which is another goal accomplished. Moving along swimmingly, really. As always, I need to study and exercise more, but I think my motivation on both those counts is returning. Especially as I’m gonna buy a bike soon, and spending money on it will motivate me to use it.

And finally, BOOKLIST, 2011:

  1. Butterfly Swords by Jeannie Lin (Historical Romance)
  2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (YA contemp)
  3. Across the Universe by Beth Revis (YA futuristic/dystopia)
  4. XVI by Julie Karr (YA dystopia)
  5. Unveiled by Courtney Milan (Historical Romance)
  6. Magic Under Glass by Jaclyn Dolamore (YA fantasy/steampunk)
  7. Romancing the Countess by Ashley March (Historical Romance) MS
  8. before i fall by Lauren Oliver (YA contemporary)
  9. StarCrossed by Elizabeth Bunce (YA fantasy)
  10. Divergent by Victoria Roth (YA dystopia) ARC
  11. Hereafter by Tara Hudson (YA paranormal/romance) ARC
  12. Wither by Lauren DeStefano (YA dystopia)

What are you waiting for? DONATE NOW. Or wait until the special guest crits/the Super Sekrit giveaway. Giveaway #1 starts THIS SATURDAY, April 2nd. E-gads! First special guest crit is Vahini Naidoo‘s random drawing on April 4th!

