Special Guest Crit: Ann Behar

Next up is Ann Behar, Super Agent at Scovil, Galen, Ghosh Literary Agency.  She is offering a 1250 word critique of a middle grade or YA manuscript VIA AUCTION.  

THIS AUCTION IS NOW CLOSED.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Comment on THIS BLOG POST with your bid. Bidding starts at US$1.
  2. You may, of course, bid more than once.
  3. Once the auction closes, if you are the highest bidder, I will contact you to donate.
  4. Please DO NOT donate unless I email you! SERIOUSLY.
  5. Donate your winning bid to the mycharitywater campaign page by April 23.
  6. If the bid is not donated by then, I’ll contact the second highest bidder to donate, and so-on.
  7. Once the donation is made, I’ll pass along the file to Ann.

Questions? Stick ‘em in the comments, contact me on twitter, or send me an e-mail (katharine_brauer @ yahoo.com).

It's Ann!

About Ann: Ann Behar has been with SGGL since 2002 and representing the agency’s juvenile list since 2005.  The following is from her About page at SGGL’s website (linked above):

It has always been books for me, even if I veered off my path at times. I majored in English and received my B.A. from the State University of New York at Stony Brook in 1981. I went on to receive an M.A. in English literature in 1982 from the University of Virginia and my J.D. from the University of San Diego Law School in 1985. Things happened quickly after that. My husband began practicing medicine (he is a neurologist) in 1986, and my first daughter was born that August. My second daughter was born 16 months later, and for the next 15 years or so I was a full-time mother and wife. What to do with my degrees stayed on a back burner.

In 2002, with my high school-age daughters half-way out the door, I was ready to go back to work. I found one of the few businesses in the world – the literary agency business – where an English degree and a law degree are equally valuable.

I joined SCG, learning the business from top to bottom, doing everything from reviewing and negotiating contracts to evaluating manuscripts, with heavy, constant contact with writers.

After five years, Russell asked me to take over the firm’s small but growing list of juvenile writers and grow it into something more substantial. I accepted the challenge, and have been searching for wonderful children’s books, from picture books to YA, ever since.

And, for a particularly important look inside of this lady’s mindset, she says that…

“If I were a superhero, my catchphrase would be ‘It’s better to look good than to feel good!'” (Imagine a superhero in stilettos screaming that as she drags your butt to jail!)

and

“If I could only eat one vegetable for the next year, that would be New Jersey tomatoes.”

