Special Guest Crit: Courtney Milan

Courtney Milan, author of sexy/so awesome your mind will be blown historical romances like Unveiled and Trial By Desire, is offering to critique the first 2,500 words of a romance MS via AUCTION. Plus, Courtney will match the winning bid–double the awesome for folks who don’t have access to clean water.

Sorry guys, this auction is closed. 🙂

Is it just me, or does that grin look a wee bit mischievous?

About Courtney: Courtney Milan lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, a marginally-trained dog, and an attack cat.

Before she started writing books, Courtney experimented with numerous occupations. She has trained dogs, written legal briefs, sold newspaper subscriptions, and written computer programs. Having given up on actually being able to do any actual things, she’s taken to heart the axiom that “those who can’t, teach.” When she isn’t reading, writing, or sleeping, she can be found in the vicinity of a classroom.

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Comment on THIS BLOG POST with your bid. Bidding starts at US$1.
  2. You may, of course, bid more than once.
  3. Once the auction closes, if you are the highest bidder, I will contact you to donate.
  4. Please DO NOT donate unless I email you! SERIOUSLY.
  5. Donate your winning bid to the mycharitywater campaign page by May 7.
  6. If the bid is not donated by then, I’ll contact the second highest bidder to donate, and so-on.
  7. Once the donation is made, I’ll contact you for the file.

Questions? Stick ‘em in the comments, contact me on twitter, or send me an e-mail (katharine_brauer @ yahoo.com).

Read about Courtney and crits and critiquing after the jump. 

Describe your critting style.

Nitpicky.  I care about things nobody else cares about. I try to explain what is bothering me and why as specifically as I can.

How has critting helped you grow as an author?

It’s made me a better editor of my own work. It makes me shut off everything I know about a person or a book and just concentrate on the text itself.

What’s the best thing you learned from a critter or critting?

I learned about pacing from my critique partners.

And the worst advice you’ve ever received?

“Your hero shouldn’t be physically attracted to the heroine at first. That’s not heroic. His physical attraction should grow over the course of the book.” <— So not kidding about this, either, and it was from a published author.

Does the word “crit” ever make you giggle?

Always.

All right, go, bid, and provide clean water. This is an awesome opportunity!

