Special Guest Crit: Vahini Naidoo #4

It’s Vahini Naidoo’s fourth and final special guest crit for Crits for Water, and she’s going out with a bang. She will provide a 10,000 word critique via AUCTION.

THIS AUCTION IS NOW CLOSED. 🙂

What's shaking?

ABOUT VAHINI: Vahini (Vee) is represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette at the Erin Murphy Literary Agency. Her debut novel, currently untitled, is scheduled for release in Fall of 2012 from Marshall Cavendish. She is also a blogger at Let the Words Flow, an excellent resource for writers of all sizes, shapes, and experience.

Vahini grew up in South Africa, where an elephant tried to kidnap her four-year-old-self from a shopping trolley and the afternoon cookies she had in the backyard  were stolen by devious monkeys. A baboon also may or may not have tried to kill her as a baby – and no, none of this is an experience common to those who dwell in South Africa. She really is just somewhat unlucky.

Fleeing the hatred of the animal kingdom (or possibly, and less dramatically tagging along with her parents), Vahini moved to Australia in 2000, where she still resides.

Vahini has always wanted to be a writer. She’s been dabbling with novel-length works since the ripe old age of twelve, and has since completed three other complete novels.

Instructions!

  1. Comment on THIS BLOG POST with your bid. Bidding starts at US$1.
  2. You may, of course, bid more than once.
  3. Once the auction closes, if you are the highest bidder, I will contact you to donate.
  4. Please DO NOT donate unless I email you! SERIOUSLY.
  5. Donate your winning bid to the mycharitywater campaign page by May 14.
  6. If the bid is not donated by then, I’ll contact the second highest bidder to donate, and so-on.
  7. Once the donation is made, send me the file.

Read more about Vahini’s critting style and what she’s learned from critting after the jump.


Describe your critting style.

I like to focus on both big-picture issues (voice, setting, character, theme) and line-by-line issues (imagery, dialogue). I try to be thorough without flooding an author with needless information, or over-critiquing a piece. While I’m fairly honest, blunt even, about a piece’s flaws, I’m never mean when pointing these things out. I try to keep it helpful, basically.

How has critting helped you grow as an author?

It’s definitely sharpened my editorial eye and made all the flaws of my own work far more apparent to me. My own revision process wouldn’t be half as effective had I not spent years critting others’ manuscripts, as well.

What’s the best thing you learned from a critter or critting?

Probably the best thing I learned was from a critter, a couple of years ago. That was to stop being afraid, and stifling my voice for the sake of following a bunch of rules to the letter. My writing improved in leaps and bounds after that.

And the worst advice you’ve ever received?

This is lame, but it’s probably when several people would read my work and comment with, “Present tense makes my eyes burn! Change it. NOW! No one publishes writing like this…” or the same sort of comments regarding first person, POV. Just sort of unfounded comments.

Which is the sillier derivative, critting or critter? Do you ever use “critted” as an adjective?

Critter! It makes all of us writerly folk sound like insects, haha. And I think I have, on occasion, used critted.

Her comments are awesome and thorough, so go and donate! 😀

