Special Guest Crit: Roni Loren Query Crit

Roni Loren, erotic romance author extraordinaire whose debut, Crash Into You, will be released in Jan 2012, is offering a query critique  via RANDOM DRAWING.

This drawing is closed. Do not enter!

I think being a romance novelist means you must have a rocking smirk.

About Roni: Roni wrote her first romance novel at age fifteen when she discovered writing about boys was way easier than actually talking to them. Since then, her flirting skills haven’t improved, but she likes to think her storytelling ability has. After earning a master’s degree in social work from LSU, she worked in a mental hospital, counseled birthmothers as an adoption coordinator, and did management recruiting in her PJs. But she always returned to writing.

Though she’ll forever be a New Orleans girl at heart, she now lives in Dallas with her husband and son. If she’s not working on her latest sexy story, you can find her reading, watching reality television, or indulging in her unhealthy addiction to rockstars concerts. Her debut novel, CRASH INTO YOU, will be published by Berkley Heat in early 2012!

Questions? Comment, contact me on twitter, or send me an e-mail (katharine_brauer @ yahoo.com).

Read on for more about Roni’s crit styles and other awesomeness, and also check out her interview at Not an Editor.

Describe your critting style.
I am very detail-oriented and usually can’t resist line editing, but I try to focus on giving over-arching feedback–did you hook me, do I understand what’s happening, how’s the pacing, etc. I tend to be a tough critter, so whoever applies for the crit should be aware of that. Examples of some of my crits can be found here: http://fictiongroupie.blogspot.com/search/label/beta%20club

How has critting helped you grow as an author?
I wouldn’t be where I am without critique partners. I sent my first novel (a YA) out before anyone non-related to me had read it. BAD IDEA. It so wasn’t ready. After that I joined a crit group that didn’t let me get away with ANYTHING. It taught me so much and about a year later, I had an agent and book deal.

What’s the best thing you learned from a critter or critting?
Oh, I don’t know if I can pinpoint one thing, but probably learning about things like author intrusion, deep POV, the little things I didn’t even know to look for.

And the worst advice you’ve ever received?
I’ve entered a number of contests and gotten a variety of feedback from judges. Mostly helpful, but I did have one that went off on me for not using semicolons in my dialogue where I had two complete sentences. Um, you NEVER see semicolons in dialogue and it was a style choice to show someone talking in a rambling way. I also was told with CRASH INTO YOU, the book that got me the agent and book deal, that I didn’t have a love scene early enough for an erotic. I don’t have a love scene for a good long time in my book because it wouldn’t have been right for my characters. They dated in the past and had too much bad blood to just jump back into each other’s arms, so I’m glad I trusted my gut and went with what was right for those characters.

Does the word “crit” ever make you giggle?
No, but critter does. 🙂

All right. Get to bidding!

