Special Guest Crit: Kendra Highley

Kendra Highley is offering a FULL MS critique (up to 75,000 words) of a YA or MG via AUCTION.

THIS AUCTION IS CLOSED. Sorry 🙂

She knows how to rock AND roll.

About Kendra: Kendra Cummings Highley is a born and bred Oklahoma girl. She graduated from Putnam City North High School and went on to study Literature and Business at the University of Oklahoma.

She met her husband, Ryan Highley, in 1988 at a high school football game, while in marching band. (Band geeks rule, yo!) They were married in 1995 and now reside in the North Texas area with their two children.

When she isn’t writing, Kendra is reading everything she can get her hands on, baking cookies, planning her next family vacation, tackling the weight room at the gym, or practicing her Rock Band drum skills.

Instructions!

  1. Comment on THIS BLOG POST with your bid. Bidding starts at US$1.
  2. You may, of course, bid more than once.
  3. Once the auction closes, if you are the highest bidder, I will contact you to donate.
  4. Please DO NOT donate unless I email you! SERIOUSLY.
  5. Donate your winning bid to the mycharitywater campaign page by June 18.
  6. If the bid is not donated by then, I’ll contact the second highest bidder to donate, and so-on.
  7. Once the donation is made, email me the file.

More about Kendra’s critiquing style after the jump, and/or read about her thoughts on critting at Not an Editor.


How has critting helped you grow as an author?
I find critique essential to writing a polished manuscript. As much I as think my own manuscript may work, a fresh pair of eyes is so helpful. I love my crit-partners and feel like my work is so much better after a beta reader has pointed out things to improve.

What’s the best thing you learned from a critter or critting?
It’s a great way to spot issues in my own writing. I’ll either pick up something in a partner’s work and think “Uh oh, I’m doing that too” or learn something really valuable from a writer that’s more advanced than I am.

And the worst advice you’ve ever received?
To make my characters speak out of “voice” – that particular reviewer wrote in a completely different genre, and was trying to impose that genre’s style on my work.

Which word do you use more often: edit or crit?
Crit 😀

Have a funny slogan for your crit in the Crits for Water Campaign?
The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly. I’m a thorough critique partner. I’ll tackle high level things like characterization, plot, and setting…but I also have a fondness for punctuation. The one thing I most believe in is that each piece of writing has its good points, and it’s my job to call those out in addition to the suggestions.

Got a question? Stick it in the comments, pop me an email (kat @ katbrauer.com), or follow me on twitter.

