Special Guest Crit: Miranda Kenneally

Miranda Kenneally, author of the upcoming contemporary YA CATCHING JORDAN, is offering two 25 page critiques via RANDOM DRAWING.

This drawing is closed! PLEASE DON’T DONATE FOR IT 😀

How much do I want to read this book? As much as a football field is long.About Miranda: Miranda Kenneally writes contemporary young adult fiction and is represented by Sara Megibow of the Nelson Literary Agency. Growing up in Tennessee, Miranda dreamed of becoming an Atlanta Brave, a country singer (cliché!), or a UN interpreter. Instead she writes, and works for the State Department in Washington, D.C. She loves Twitter, Star Trek and her husband. Miranda also works on Dear Teen Me and is a regular blogger at the YA-5.

More about Miranda’s critique style and her general rocktasticness after the jump. And/or check out her interview at Not an Editor.

How has critting helped you grow as an author?
Reading books is the only reason I know how to write! It’s all about recognizing the gaps in a story or in a character and knowing how to fill them.

What’s the best thing you learned from a critter or critting?
That my truth is not everybody else’s truth and I can’t just assume that everyone feels the same way about things as I do.

And the worst advice you’ve ever received?
An author once told me that the market is really bad, so I shouldn’t even try to get published, because I had no chance of getting through the gatekeepers. *rolls eyes*

What character in CATCHING JORDAN would you NOT want to crit your work?
JJ. He’s Jordan’s friend and the center on the football team. He has a heart, but I don’t think he can read all that well.

Questions? Comments? Stick ’em in the comments below or pop me a line over at twitter. NOW GO FORTH AND DONATE, minions!

