Hey there, fall.

Today I pulled out some of my lighter sweaters and jackets from my dresser. As they smell of mothballs and slight mold, I decided to give them a good washing before tossing them on. The Canadians among you may tease me–it’s still over 20 degrees celsius the majority of the time. But hey! Three days ago it was almost topping 25, if not leaning towards 30.

I don’t know about you, but as soon as the weather even glimmers towards fall, I start getting antsy for certain things:

  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Pumpkin Bread
  • Chai Tea
  • Turkey sandwiches (alas! hard to pull off in Japan)
  • Soups & Stews (ex: carrot & ginger, roasted red bell pepper, chicken noodle)
  • Pumpkin Pie

Apparently it’s also already chestnut season in Japan. Who knew! Maybe I can make a chestnut..cake? Pie? Pie-cake? Any ideas?

The only bad thing right now is that, even though Japan loves to laud its “Four Seasons,” the trees don’t really change on Iki. That’s what I get for living on a sub-tropical island.

I know, my life is so hard.

SO MINIONS: How are you ringing in the fall? Also, someone come fix my cough, stat.

