Serious <3

“…in Iran, we think democracy means comfort, when in fact freedom means having to bear responsibility, which is difficult.”
-Farhadi, director of the Iranian film, A Separation

I spent most of today doing nothing (i.e., watching YouTube videos of kittens) because of some serious study burn-out, then after the usual Friday Night Hangout with the other foreign English teachers on the island, I sat down to read this week’s issue of the Christian Science Monitor.

Holy gad zooks.

  1. I want to see this movie.
  2. I want to learn more about the escalating aggressive relations between Iran and the US, because that is some scary shizz, and,
  3. DEMOCRACY LOVE.

It’s like my favorite quote from The American President. “America isn’t easy. America is advanced citizenship. You gotta want it bad, ’cause it’s gonna put up a fight.” But better because it comes from the citizen of a country that is constantly derided by Americans for being anti-democratic.

And now I’m SO PUMPED to study again. 😀

How’re your weekends looking, minions? Has anyone seen or heard of this movie? It was up for an award at the Golden Globes.

