Pan-Universal Be Who You Are Day Cupcakes!

For Pan-Universal Be Who You Are Day (PUBWYA Day), I decided to make cupcakes for all of my coworkers. More specifically, these cupcakes. About two years back, I tried to make red velvet and, while they were tasty, they didn’t exactly have that OMG factor.

These ones did.

NOM NOM NOM.

Which I largely attribute to a perfectly timed package from my mom: two things of decorative hearts, one container of heart candies, lots of cupcake liners with hearts all over them, and an AMAZING cupcake apron.

I loff my mommy.

Moral of the story is: the recipe went over very well. My changes were small and mostly based on available ingredients: all purpose flour rather than cake flour, milk+lemon juice as a buttermilk substitute, a heaping tablespoon of cocoa rather than a straight one, and a heaping teaspoon of baking soda for good measure. I used LOTS and LOTS of powdered red food coloring–but it still wasn’t enough. They turned into more of a pink color. I’ll know better for next time. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to try any, but everyone who did said they were delicious! Good luck, folks.

It took me a couple of hours to decorate 22 cupcakes. But totally worth it.

The finished products! Not perfect, but still satisfying.

So minions! What’s your favorite cupcake flavor? Did you make anything to celebrate PUBWYA Day? Can you guess what sweet I’m gonna make next? (Hint: You can pretend it’s healthy!)

