An Oldie but a Goodie: World Water Day

A Mizu Nomihodai memory…

In November of 2009, as I neared the end of Mizu Nomihodai (All you can drink Water, my first charity: water campaign), I got this phone call at my base school.

“[Unintelligible Japanese] water [unintelligible Japanese] newspaper story [unintelligible Japanese].”

I assumed this someone–a very old, grumpy man, judging by the crackling voice and potent use of Iki’s dialect–wanted to donate, but my Japanese was not that good. So I handed the phone to one of my English teachers, Michiko, with an embarrassed, “Can you please help?”

Once she’d hung up, Michiko said, “That was a Mr. Wakamura. He’d like to donate to the campaign, but he can’t drive. Shall we go to his house together tomorrow during lunch break?”

I nodded. “Of course!”

Iki roads can be narrow, barely enough for one car, and twist up and around with no apparent logic. When Michiko and I went to Mr. Wakamura’s, it was raining like the dickens. The windshield of my clunker of a car kept fogging, so I drove at about 20 kilometers an hour–plenty slow enough to crane my neck with interest upon seeing an old karate dojo, plants growing up its side.

“Ah!” Michiko stabbed the map. “That’s the dojo. We’re very close…”

Go to Crits for Water to finish reading!

Pahahaha, I’m terrible. (slash SLEEPY and LAZY because I am SLEEPY.)

